Skeletal making

I really haven’t been able to think of a topic this year that I can disclose the contents of to others, so here I am writing up a short piece on a new skill I’ve acquired. Be warned, there are skeletal diagrams here of several dinosaur taxa; All are CC-BY 4.0.

Picking a taxon to make a skeletal diagram of is probably the most difficult of all choices for me. I am not very good at making decisions in any aspect of life, skeletals are no different.Veterupristisaurus

One of the first topics I tried to skeletal was simply known bones pasted onto the outline of a separate taxon, illustrated by my Veterupristisaurus skeletal above. The silhouette is from Scott Hartman’s Acrocanthosaurus, and thus the silhouette is copyrighted to him. The bones themselves are free for your enjoyment, such as to add onto a separate silhouette.

Irritator skeleton

Next, I tried to create full digital skeletals, like the Irritator above. This was my first full skeletal, for a project I have yet to complete. Full skeletals have shown me more about the way bones interact, with some advice from friends on vertebral counts and pectoral articulations.

Haestasaurus

I have also at times attempted to create traditional skeletals, and then transform them into digital, like this Haestasaurus you see above. This is probably one of the hardest for myself to cope with because being a perfectionist I always try to get the bones exact, and with most traditional methods that’s an impossibility.

Peteinosaurus

Sometimes to choose I just pick a taxon that badly needs a skeletal, or a better one, like this Peteinosaurus. This one was very difficult because of the lack of online data, apparently coming from the fact that Italy has a law against the distribution of photographs of Italian specimens, which in fact may be part of an issue discussed on SVPOW how the line between private and public specimens may be more blurred than people perceive. Hopefully this skeletal gets more use than the abomination found on David Peters website (not linking, I would not wish to draw readers here over to his pages).

As time has gone on and my skill and techniques have progressed, I’ve started to realize that I really can make skeletal diagrams that are both very accurate (in my own opinion) and display the known material correctly to the fullest extent. My second most recent skeletal diagram, a full one of the new taxon Europatitan eastwoodi Fernández-Baldor et al 2017, can be seen below.Europatitan

 

Welcome back to images galore. 🙂

References:
Fernández-Baldor, F.T.; Canudo, J.I.; Huerta, P.; Moreno-Azanza, M.; Montero, D. (2017). Europatitan eastwoodi, a new sauropod from the lower Cretaceous of Iberia in the initial radiation of somphospondylans in Laurasia”PeerJ5: e3409. doi:10.7717/peerj.3409.

About ijreid

I am an amateur palaeontologist thats hobbies include studying extinct amniotes, specifically dinosaurs, birds, and mammals. Occasionally, I focus my time on detailed and accurate illustrations of dinosaurs, and I have completed drawings of Dysalotosaurus, Micropachycephalosaurus, Zhuchengtyrannus, Troodon, Eotyrannus, Europelta, and Achillobator. I do not believe in copyrights, and think that the world would be better if everything was open access.
This entry was posted in Anatomy, Palaeoart, Sauropoda, Theropoda and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

