What ever happened to Loricosaurus?

More sauropods, but deviating slightly from what I was planning to post today. Working through all the titanosaurs known from South America, I came across an old taxon I learned a little about several years back. Loricosaurus is a genus of Lithostrotian originally named in 1929 by Friedrich von Huene, for osteoderms he considered to belong to ankylosaurs, which would be the first ankylosaurs from South America. Of course, that idea did not hold up, and now the holotype scutes are clearly considered to be from a titanosaur. However, this is not a tale of that, but instead of the species of Loricosaurus.

Screen Shot 2016-08-16 at 10.13.03 AM

Holotype scutes of Loricosaurus scutatus (Figs 2-18), from Huene (1929) Pl. XLIII. Fig. 1 is an “acanthopholid” spine.

A little history on this: Originally, in 2013, I came across a mention of Loricosaurus somewhere, as a genus that is potentially a synonym of Neuquensaurus, but not certainly. Thus, I went to wikipedia, where I basically just compiled all the information I could find into the article, so I could learn a little about the taxon. Among the information I found, from I don’t know where, was that Loricosaurus noricus, named by Huene in 1929, was the type species, and that the other species, Loricosaurus scutatus, was also named by Huene in 1929. The website where I apparently identified Loricosaurus noricus was the PaleobiologyDatabase, but a few years back that site went defunct, and was replaced with Fossilworks. Apparently, with the change of site also came a revision of information, as any mention to Loricosaurus noricus was completely replaced. In addition, any search for “Loricosaurus noricus” in Google or Google Scholar comes up with no non-wiki-mirror results. The final bullet: I have gone through all of Huene (1929), and the only mentions of Loricosaurus are of the species Loricosaurus scutatus, which Huene wonderfully labels as “gen. et sp. nov.”. Thus, as far as I can tell, Loricosaurus noricus does not exist.

References

  • von Huene, F. 1929. Los saurisquios y ornitisquios del Cretacéo Argentino. Anales del Museo de La Plata(series 3) 3: 1–196.
About ijreid

I am an amateur palaeontologist thats hobbies include studying extinct amniotes, specifically dinosaurs, birds, and mammals. Occasionally, I focus my time on detailed and accurate illustrations of dinosaurs, and I have completed drawings of Dysalotosaurus, Micropachycephalosaurus, Zhuchengtyrannus, Troodon, Eotyrannus, Europelta, and Achillobator. I do not believe in copyrights, and think that the world would be better if everything was open access.
This entry was posted in Sauropoda and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What ever happened to Loricosaurus?

  1. bricksmashtv says:

    Very interesting. I had no idea Loricosaurus noricus never really existed. I’ve heard it mentioned before, but never in a paper before. Cool and informative post as always! Keep it up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

