What I’ve been doing

So, I haven’t done much in a while, but I have been busy. I in fact have been getting ready for what may be the largest morphological phylogenetic analysis EVER, one including nearly Every Single Dinosaurian taxon, that is either valid or a nomen dubium. Of course, I cannot have this any more specific than genera, so I shall be recording the specimens I base my codings on in an appendix. Honestly, I don’t think Ill be able to use all characters accounted for in more focus analyses, as I believe that would bring the total count well over the 5 000.

gxso1

Many characters I choose are based upon previous phylogenies, but I am also introducing some new ones. These hopefully will balance out that I have 1 019 taxa that I will be coding, from Lagerpeton to Ichthyornis. Suggestions on papers where I can find characters or high-resolution images of specimens of relatively enigmatic genera would be appreciated.

 

  • SerenoPC. The evolution of dinosaurs. Science 284:2137-2147. (26)
About ijreid

I am an amateur palaeontologist thats hobbies include studying extinct amniotes, specifically dinosaurs, birds, and mammals. Occasionally, I focus my time on detailed and accurate illustrations of dinosaurs, and I have completed drawings of Dysalotosaurus, Micropachycephalosaurus, Zhuchengtyrannus, Troodon, Eotyrannus, Europelta, and Achillobator. I do not believe in copyrights, and think that the world would be better if everything was open access.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I’ve been doing

  1. Planning to include all known dinosaurs is a monumental task, but I’d suggest to go ahead and include OTUs at the species level wherever possible. If you’re going to base it on specific specimens anyway, it just makes more sense. I can’t see a case where you’d be forced to score at the genus level and I question where having every single poorly known taxon will do anything to help resolve the tree better, particularly in the case if they are information equivalents of other OTUs in the matrix.

    Like

    • ijreid says:

      It will definitely not make things easier. Right now I am working my way into more expansive analysis, currently in the more derived sauropod region.

      Like

Leave a Reply

