What, Acta Palaeontologica Polonica is providing NC licensing?!

Oh my dog, I have just come across a major change in a very important journal. Acta Palaeontologica Polonica, one of my favourite journals because of its providing of only CC-BY licenses, has now provided a paper under CC-BY-NC. Read for yourself, on the second page of the online version of Tschopp et al., or for you lazy folk, here is the exact wording of the paragraph:

Copyright © 2014 E. Tschopp et al. This is an open-access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (CC-BY-NC), which permits non commercial use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original author and source are credited.

I find this personally disappointing, and would like to know others thoughts on the subject.

Update: Thanks Steve, for explaining the situation. I now see that that decision, while not what I would have done, is appropriate in the situation. The prevention of commercial models is a issue, so I understand the reasoning for the license change. One thing I don’t quite get still is why they published it to Acta Palaeontologica Polonica, when many other journals prevent commercial use, and some of those also have open access.

About ijreid

I am an amateur palaeontologist thats hobbies include studying extinct amniotes, specifically dinosaurs, birds, and mammals. Occasionally, I focus my time on detailed and accurate illustrations of dinosaurs, and I have completed drawings of Dysalotosaurus, Micropachycephalosaurus, Zhuchengtyrannus, Troodon, Eotyrannus, Europelta, and Achillobator. I do not believe in copyrights, and think that the world would be better if everything was open access.
This entry was posted in Acta Palaeontologica Polonica, Open Access and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What, Acta Palaeontologica Polonica is providing NC licensing?!

  1. Andy Farke says:

    That’s unfortunate. On the one hand, I understand the appeal of “NC”…on the other hand, I’ve met very, very few who have thought through (or had explained) the potential consequences of choosing this license.

    Like

  2. Steve Brusatte says:

    This post is way overblown. APP is not undergoing a “demise”. Relax. This one paper was made NC, after a request by the author and discussion by the editorial board, because it has extensive 3D figures in the supplement, and the museum housing the specimens was concerned that they could be used for 3D printing, and therefore the selling of copies of the bones. I say this as an editor of APP.

    Like

  3. protohedgehog says:

    I’ll get on writing a letter to APP about this. Thanks for raising the issue!

    Like

    • protohedgehog says:

      Apparently this is to stop the commercial re-use of 3D models. Thanks to Steve Brusatte for pointing this out – I don’t see any further issue here.

      Like

  4. Mike Taylor says:

    I agree that there is a reasonable story behind this. But it’s a real shame about the collateral damage done by applying to NC licence to the whole publication, not just the 3d models. As a result, for example, the illustrations can’t be used in Wikipedia articles.

    Like

Leave a Reply

